The Slovak Law defines the institutions of higher education as legal entities, providing education and research in the Slovak Republic . According the character and amount of activities they can be divided into university type institutions, providing education up to the PhD. study, and non-university type institutions, providing education up to the Bachelor’s level.


The Accreditation Commission as the advisory body of the Slovak Government observes and evaluates the education and scientific or artistic activities of Slovak universities or faculties concerning degrees, levels of study, establishment of a public institution of higher education, its faculties, the approval for establishing a private institution of higher education, on changes in study disciplines and fields of study at these institutions, etc.

There are the three types of institutions of higher education in the Slovak Republic :


Public Institution of Higher Education lestablished according the Act on Higher Education. The bodies of the academic autonomy of the institutions are the Academic Senate, the Rector, The Scientific Council and the Disciplinary Commission. They decide on the organization, activities and administration of the institution.


State Institution of Higher Education, established through the Ministries of the Slovak government.  The respective Ministry  sets the rules for the types of study, administering the financial means, regulating the number of students, the employees etc. supervised by respective Ministry as:

- Police institutions of higher education (established and supervised by the Ministry of Interior)

- Military institutions for higher education (established and supervised by the Ministry of Defense)

- Health care institutions of higher education (established and supervised by the Ministry of Health).


Private Institution of Higher Education, established by non-government institutions or founders, but the providing of education and research must be approved by the Ministry of Education. The approval is based on the approval of the Accreditation Commission or the administration and operation of the institution would harm the laws or regulations of the country.


Public Institutions of Higher Education:

Comenius University in Bratislava

Pavol Jozef Šafárik University in Košice

University of Prešov 

University of Constantine Philosopher in Nitra

Matej Bel University in Banská Bystrica

University of Trnava

University of St Cyril and St Methodius in Trnava

Slovak Technical University in Bratislava

Technical University in Košice

University of Žilina in Žilina

University of Trenčín in Trenčín

University of Veterinary Medicine in Košice

Slovak Agricultural University in Nitra

Technical University in Zvolen

University of Economics in Bratislava

Academy of Performing Arts in Bratislava

Academy of Fine Arts and Design in Bratislava

Academy of Arts in Banská Bystrica

Catholic University in Ružomberok

Jan Selye University in Komarno 


State Institutions of Higher Education: 

Armed Forces Academy of General Milan Rastislav Štefánik

Police Academy in Bratislava

Slovak Healthcare University  


Private Institutions of Higher Education:

College of Management in Trenčín

Paneuropean College in Bratislava

St. Elizabeth College of Health and Social Work in Bratislava

Danubius College

College of Public Administration Management nd Economics in Bratislava

Central European College in Skalica

International School of Management Slovakia

Bratislava International School of Liberal Arts

Dubnica Institute of Technology

College of Security Management in Košice

Jan Albrecht's Music and Art Academy in Banská Štiavnica

Academy of Media




Substantial information on study opportunities and study programs offered in foreign languages can be also  found at: