All Fulbright grants and awards are administered in accordance with worldwide regulations guided by principles of binational governance, mutual understanding, open competition, academic excellence and professional promise.


U. S. Citizens and Slovak Citizens may usually apply in all fields (with exemptions for some programs, i.e.  clinical medicine are excluded for program for graduate studies). Priority fields are taken into consideration only if qualities of candidates are comparable.


Based on the bilateral agreement between the U.S. and the Slovak Republic the J. W. Fulbright Commission for Educational Exchange in the Slovak Republic has been established as the administrative body of the Fulbright Program in the Slovak Republic.


In each program, a selection committee appointed by the Fulbright Commission reviews the applications for all programs together with specialists in the individual area of study, and interviews the candidates. The Commission also announces final nominations of Fulbright grantees in the Slovak Republic, taking into account the recommendations of the selection committee, the availability of funds, and other program requirements. The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board nominated by the U.S. President and located in Washington, DC, is the final institution approving all Fulbright grants.


Administration of each program is provided in cooperation with the agencies: The Institute of International Education  and the Council for International Exchange of Scholars.